Sindhi Langauge History

Sindhi speech is generally classified into six major dialects:

i. Siraiki,

spoken in Siro, i.e. Upper Sindh

Shikarpuri ?

ii. Vicholi,

in Vicholo, Central Sindh

Bhaibands & Amils ?

iii. Lari,

in Laru, i.e. Lower Sindh

iv. Lasi,

in Lasa B’elo, a part of Kohistan in Baluchistan on the western side of Sindh

v. Thari or Thareli,

in Tharu, the desert region on the southeast border of Sindh and a part of the Jaisalmer district in Rajasthan

vi. Kachhi,

in the Kutch region and in a part of Kathiawar in Gujarat, on the southern side of Sindh.

Vicholi is considered as the standard dialect by all Sindhi speakers.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: